A Walk in the Rain

It was one of those raw winter late afternoons in New England where the rain mixed with sleet and the sky was steel gray.  One of those days where you can’t get rid of the chill.  One of those days when all you want to do is go home, pour yourself a cup of hot tea and curl up on the couch with a blanket and a good book. But that wasn’t going to happen today as I am now the owner of an adorable and rather energetic puppy!  So on went several layers of clothes, a winter hat and coat, gloves and warm boots.  The pup went in the car and we headed out for a walk.

Mine was the only car in the parking lot.  We headed out on the trails.  It was cold at first, but as we got going, I quickly warmed up and began to notice how beautiful it was to be out in the world, just me and my dog.  We walked and stopped, and stopped again, to look around (and sniff around).  We walked some more.  I remembered how I used to love being outside when no one else was around.  I used to love being up in the early morning when it was quiet.  I used to love going out in the rain to play when everyone else was inside and dry.

There is something about overcoming the elements that I enjoy.

One thought on “A Walk in the Rain

Leave a Reply

