I’m in Charge of Celebrations

 

I’ve always loved Byrd Baylor’s I’m in Charge of Celebrations.  The young girl in the story decides to create her own holidays (in addition to those they close school for). She celebrates Dust Devil Day, Rainbow Celebration Day, Coyote Day, and more than one hundred other holidays. She is picky about what to celebrate.  She says, “You can tell what’s worth a celebration because your heart will POUND and you’ll feel like you’re standing on top of a mountain and you’ll catch your breath like you were breathing some new kind of air.” Today (and every year on March 9) my heart pounds and I catch my breath.  Today is the anniversary of the day my daughter was officially cured from childhood leukemia.  Today is a day to celebrate.

slice-of-life_individual.jpg

4 thoughts on “I’m in Charge of Celebrations

Leave a Reply

