Developing Habits

When I turned fifty, I got nervous.  When I get nervous, I make a plan. I decided I was going to, finally, go to a gym on a regular basis (No, not once a year, more like 4 times a week!).  I clearly remember a friend of mine (an incredible athlete and fitness nut) promising me that once I started going to the gym regularly, I would start wanting to go, even needing the regular workout.  I didn’t believe her.  At first, I hated the gym. It was boring, time consuming, inconvenient, and hard.  But over time, I started to enjoy challenging myself to do more, and I started seeing results.  And then it happened….I began to feel like I needed to go to the gym. It had become a habit.

I’ve never hated writing the way I hated working out at the gym, but I find it hard.  I find it particularly hard to carve out time to write.  The SOL Challenged offered by Two Writing Teachers in March has given me the challenge I needed to get started.  I struggled at first.  It was hard to get up and write each and every morning.  It was hard to come up with new ideas.  It was hard to produce writing that I felt I could publish.  Then the ideas started coming to me more quickly.  I had to jot notes on random pieces of paper when I heard or noticed something. Now I keep a small notebook in my purse and a list on my computer, and they are filling up.  This morning I had to leave early for work, and didn’t have time to write.  I missed it.  I thought about it all day. I needed to write. I came home at the end of the day, walked the dog, and sat right down to create my blog entry.  I think I’ve developed a writing habit.

slice-of-life_individual.jpg

 

8 thoughts on “Developing Habits

  1. This is so true. Kudos to you for creating those habits in both areas. I HATE the gym, but I know I need to create the habit. Luckily for me, I can say that, right now, I’m working on creating a writing habit. Thus, I can put off the gym habit until later. (I know that’s not the point, it just makes me feel better.)

  2. I’m glad it’s a habit…that means we will keep going! I was just thinking today that I need to carry a notebook around so I can let my brain rest a bit-I’m also inspired that your notebook and lists are filling up. I’m still thinking day by day! I’m so grateful to be building good habits with you and I look forward to reading your posts each day.

  3. Isn’t it amazing when we get into the habit of writing, stories just appear out of nowhere? I wish tight abs and a smaller butt would appear too! 🙂 but I guess I will have to be happy stories.

Leave a Reply

