Rewriting My Job Description

In a recent post from Slicer Readingteachsu  (that had been inspired by a post from another Slicer, Cast of Characters),  I was encouraged to rewrite my job description. It wasn’t easy.  I do a variety of different things as a coach – professional development, demonstration lessons, grade level meetings, ordering, curriculum writing, and lots more.  This exercise forced me to think hard about what I’m really after in my work.  What is all this for? Here’s what I came up with:

The person in this position is required to develop agency in teachers and students through the use of thoughtful, specific, and purposeful feedback in order to maximize learning for all.

I loved the exercise of rewriting my job description in one sentence!  Let’s just cut to the chase and focus on THE most important thing I am after in my coaching work.  I think this is it! I’m thinking about doing this with teachers.  They have so many demands.  I wonder what they would come up with if they rewrote their job descriptions.  I wonder if it would help them weed through all of the stuff and really get to the heart of what they are trying to accomplish.

I also loved that I was inspired by a post that was inspired by a post.  This is the magic of the Two Writing Teachers SOL Challenge.

slice-of-life_individual.jpg

9 thoughts on “Rewriting My Job Description

  1. It’s been great to be inspired by all of the wonderful writing throughout this challenge. The “one sentence” part is really great. Hard to do, cut through all the extraneous noise and get to the vitality of what you do. Wonderful job.

  2. And now I’m trying to think of how to describe my job in one sentence. I love your description, especially because the all includes teachers.

  3. Love this. I think I will try as well. It’s also a great time of year to really think about what the true demands of our job should be instead of dwelling on all the things we seem to think we “need” to be doing.

Leave a Reply

