Quote Collecting

I’m a quote collector.  I write quotes on post its, on torn pieces of paper, on old napkins, in my notebooks, and in the margins of books.  I post quotes on my walls at home and at school. I send quotes to family and friends, write quotes inside birthday cards and thank you notes.  I start professional development sessions and talks with quotes.

I just love finding the perfect words for an occasion.  I love to find the words that resonate with me, or that I hope will resonate with someone else. Quotes have helped me through tough times, helped me celebrate the good times, helped me try to understand what seems impossible to express in words.

Here are two that I collected this weekend:

“It’s never too late to be what you might have been.”  George Eliot

“Better is possible.  It does not take genius.  It takes diligence.  It takes moral clarity.  It takes ingenuity.  And above all, it takes a willingness to try.”  Atul Gawande

Enjoy them.  Use them.  Share them.  Collect them!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Quote Collecting

  1. I’d like the George Eliot better were I not 73, which may not be too late but is well on the way there. Something less Victorian and variant on Browning’s “Ah, but a man’s reach should exceed his grasp” might suit me better.

    1. That’s another thing about quotes – they can speak so well to one’s particular situation (although I still want to believe that Eliot is relevant even at 73!).

  2. When my jottings on anything at hand spread through my life I created one notebook that is just quotes. I used my rainbow pens and alternated colors as I copied them in. If I liked the way they were or had cut them out of a magazine, I just glued them in. After college the internet showed up and it didn’t seem as important to me to hoard them for that ‘just in case’ any more. I’m glad to know quote collecting is still alive and well.

Leave a Reply

